“Daily Trojan Double Take” is a partnership between Daily Trojan and KXSC Radio to bring more depth to the campus and local stories catching your attention! Every Wednesday from 2-3 p.m. on 1560 AM host and columnist Jordyn Holman speaks with students, faculty and guest making an impact on campus.Stay tuned each week to the “Daily Trojan Double Take” and call and tweet to join the conversation! Host Jordyn Holman speaks with students Tara Campbell and Nick Kosturos about their trip to Sacramento on the Unruh Institute of Politics’ Cerrell Seminar and the importance of understanding state politics and student power.
FIFA says the referee who awarded Italy a goal after first whistling for a penalty in Saturday’s match against Brazil acknowledges making the wrong call.Referee Ravshan Irmatov blew his whistle to award Italy a penalty. Moments later, as play continued, Giorgio Chiellini scored. Irmatov was seen pointing at the penalty spot and then giving a goal.FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola said: “He has admitted he made a mistake.”Irmatov is a widely respected referee from Uzbekistan who had been expected to have a chance to referee the Confederations Cup final. Now he is expected to be sent home with his assistants, who also made two key errors in Saturday’s game.Brazil won the match 4-2.